Minutes of the meeting held under the Chairmanship of Shri V.K. Tiwari, and Shri M Nagaraju, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Coal on 15.12.2020 (via VC) to review status of CIL Surface Coal Gasification projects.

List of participants is enclosed at Annexure.

- 1. A meeting was held on the above subject through VC wherein officers from CIL, CMPDI, WCL, ECL, CCL, SECL and PDIL participated. CMD CMPDI, Director T CII and Shri Manoj Upadhyay, Scientist NITI Aayog were present physically. At the outset, Additional Secretary, MoC welcomed the participants.
- 2. Initiating the discussions, Shri Peeyush Kumar mentioned about the submission of draft PFR report prepared by PDIL in respect of 4 coal gasification projects in the subsidiary companies of CIL. Thereafter, PDIL was requested to make presentations on the Draft Pre-feasibility Reports prepared.
- 3. Detailed presentations were made by PDIL on the outcome of the PFR prepared by them in respect of coal gasification projects of CCL, ECL, WCL and SECL. Various suggestions were made by the officers present in the meeting. It was noted that some observations on PFR have been sent to PDIL by respective coal companies. All subsidiary companies were advised to include the observations and send comments to PDIL on the Draft PFR submitted by them by 17.12.2020. PDIL should be asked to submit the final PFR by 25.12.2020.

[Action: Director of WCL/ECL/CCL/SECL Timeline: 17.12.2020]

- 4. After the presentation of PDIL, it was also noted that as per the decisions taken in various other meetings, CIL has given work order to CMPDI for selecting an agency for peer review. It was also noted that the technical committee under the chairmanship of NITI Aayog had reviewed these projects on 3.11.2020 and certain observations were made and CMPDI was asked to include this while preparing ROT for the peer review. In order to expedite the process of implementation of projects, in line with the decisions taken during the review meeting of Secretary Coal on 15.12.2020 at 11 AM, the following timeline was set-
- 4.1 Preparation of Tender Document and floating of tender for .Peer Review of PFRs shall be done by 19.12.2020.CMD CMPDI was advised to take all necessary decisions to ensure floating of tender in a time bound manner. It was noted that 15 days time will be given for submission of tender document and CMPDI will issue LOI by 15.1.2020. The PFR report must be submitted by 15.2.2020 by the identified agency so that the comments on PFR and additional study done by the agency can be sent to CIL for further actions.

[Action: CMD, CMPDI Action: 19.12.2020]

4.2 Draft PFR submitted by PDIL will have to be sent to resource group through Ministry of Coal for their comments on the technology part and related issues dealt in the PFR. The comments of Resource Group must be obtained by 15.1.2020 so as to make it available to the agency conducting peer review.

[Action: Shri Peeyush Kumar, MOC

Action: 18.12.2020]

4.3 In line with the decisions taken in this matter in the review meeting of Secretary Coal, CIL was advised to start the work of engaging an agency for preparation of Tender Document and Detailed Project Report for engagement of suitable operator for taking up of construction, operation of the proposed plant. Since the PFR report will be ready by 25.12.2020, as an advance action the report can be shared with the agency so engaged and the comments of PFR review and additional studies can be shared once it is received from CMPDI. CIL was advised to ensure that the agency is selected with a timeline of floating the tender by 31.03.2020 after taking required approvals.

[Action: Director (T), CIL Action: 31.12.2020]

5. Meeting ended with vote of thanks to Chair.

Annexure

List of participants Meeting was held via video conferencing. Ministry of Coal-

- 1. Shri V.K. Tiwari, AS
- 2. Shri M Nagaraju, AS
- 3. Shri Peeyush Kumar, CM
- 4. Shri Hitlar Singh, US

NITI Aayog-

1. Manoj Upadhyay, Scientist D

Coal Companies-

- 1. Shri M.K. Prasad, Dir (T), and officers of SECL
- 2. Shri Manoj Kumar, Dir (T), and officers of WCL
- 3. Shri JP Gupta, Dir (T), and officers of ECL
- 4. Officers of Coal Videsh Division, CIL
- 5. Officers of CMPDI
- 6. Officers of CCL

PDIL-

1. Shri Ashutosh Prasad, GM PDIL and his team